Dirty Dog Boogie Share this with a friend


by Loris Lesynski
illustrated by Loris Lesynski

The Year’s Best List, Resource Links

This collection of original poems will knock your socks off, and Lesynski has just the poem for that event: Sock Fluff. Her poetry is an invitation to be witty, expressive and creative, and her words demonstrate just how much fun poetry and everyday life can be. Topics range from sending out an SOS for delicious sausages, imagining what it would be like to have a brudda named Brad and keeping the mozza-keetos away, to indulging in laaaaaziness. Lesynski’s infectious fun with sound, rhythm and beat are guaranteed to win over the most reluctant anti-poetry student. 

Reviews:

“… rhythm that becomes musical when read aloud. A collection that will appeal to fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein.”
—School Library Journal


“… an exuberant collection of child-centered rhymes that dance in your head and bounce off your tongue, that beg to be read, chanted, or sung aloud ... This book would be terrific in a classroom, allowing teachers to have fun liberating the poet in every child. Highly recommended for both school and home use.”
—Canadian Book Review Annual


“A nifty book of poetry ... will have everyone toe-tapping, finger-snapping and grin-grinning.”
—St. Catharines Standard


“This is a ‘clap-your-hands and stamp-your-feet’ kind of book and is aimed at producing lots of giggles.”
—Canadian Children’s Literature


“When it comes to rhyming stuff, Lesynski is a major goddess. The only thing more joyous than her rhymes are her charming and well drawn illustrations.”
—January Magazine